www.iaem.ie [email protected]


Examinations required for Irish Emergency Medicine training are administered by the Royal College of Emergency Medicine in the UK. The College runs 2 main exams:

1. Membership of the Royal College of Emergency Medicine Examination (MCEM)

Entry to the Membership Examination of the Royal College of Emergency Medicine is based on regulations published on the College’s website. These regulations are updated regularly and candidates are advised to look at the regulations for the diet of the current and future examinations before applying.

CSTEM culminates in eligibility to sit MCEM which is the only accepted postgraduate examination to confer eligibility to apply for ASTEM. The MCEM examination is administered by CEM and consists of three parts:

  • Part A – MCQ exam in basic sciences as applied to EM. Part A may be taken in the intern year.
  • Part B – Data interpretation
  • Part C – Objective Structured Clinical Examinations (OSCEs)

2. Fellowship of the Royal College of Emergency Medicine Examination (FCEM)

FCEM is mandatory for inclusion to the Register of Medical Specialists, Division of EM within the Medical Council.

At present, FCEM is composed of:

  • Clinical SAQ and OSCE
  • Critical Appraisal SAQ
  • Management Viva
  • Clinical Topic Review

Candidates are advised to consult the RCEM website for updated details regarding FCEM.

Exam Resources

There are many online resources and courses available to prepare for FCEM, please visit the Royal College of Emergency Medicine website and  IAEM Trainees for further details.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.