www.iaem.ie [email protected]

Academic & Research

academic_researchThere is considerable academic and research activity within the Emergency Medicine community in Ireland. The Academic Committee of IAEM has a broad remit to promote research and evidence-based EM within the specialty. This committee has specific responsibility inter alia for the management of the following:

  • Abstract submissions to the IAEM Annual Scientific Meeting
  • Applications for the IAEM Trainee’s Award and the Bayer/IAEM Trainee’s Bursary
  • Supporting the roll out of multinational trials and studies
  • Assisting with guiding SpRs in the development of the Clinical Topic Review component of the FRCEM examination
  • Representing IAEM on Scientific Advisory Committees of international EM academic meetings e.g. ICEM

Terms of Reference

The Association has determined Terms of Reference for the committee.

Committee Members

The current membership of the committee is:

  • Dr Damien Ryan (Chair)
  • Dr Michael Barrett
  • Dr John Cronin
  • Prof Conor Deasy
  • Dr Peadar Gilligan
  • Dr Kiren Govender
  • Dr Aileen McCabe
  • Prof Geraldine McMahon
  • Dr Roisin McNamara
  • Dr Rosa McNamara
  • Dr Mustafa Mehmood
  • Dr David Menzies
  • Mr John O’Donnell
  • Dr Sinead O’Gorman
  • Dr Suma Rajan
  • Prof John Ryan
  • Prof Rose Galvin
  • Dr Etimbuk Umana (Trainee Representative)


Research Strategy

The Academic Committee has produced an overarching Research Strategy for Emergency Medicine in Ireland with an overt objective to foster multi-centre clinical research through the creation of an Irish EM research network. Further links to assist with research are on the way and will be uploaded here in due course.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.